Update

Well, It appears that I haven’t posted a blog post in a while so I’ll just post an update since I last posted :).

Well I left teenlug after a large argument with Ewan over tlcms a while back (and so resigned from my post as tlcms developer) and so I’m just costing along without any #teenlug or teenlug.com-ness! Anyway teenlug seems to be going down the pan a bit now and I think everyone can sense it; Zach recently posted on the teenlug.com blog on the “Current state of teenlug” and even though I don’t really want to get back into the community I don’t want to see it go under as it certainly helped me get into and stick with linux in the longrun and I think it’s important for the future that it stays open to help wayward teen linux users get on the right track with help and support.

I’ve come up with a bit of a rough idea about how I think that teenlug could cut out a lot of the arguments and hopefully stay running in the long run and I shall pitch it to them later today when some people are around. I think a teenlug constitution could rectify the situation by providing a code of conduct in the community and appropriate sanctions if that code is broken (amongst other things). I posted my notes on the issue to pastebin, here: http://pastebin.ca/823685.

On the upside of linux related things, Fred Phillips (fophillips) and I are lucky enough to get a regular fortnightly editorial on the newly referbished Macteens website which is now under new managment. We will each be posting on alternate fortnights, hopefully beginning with Fred on Wednesday January 16th and me two weeks later on January 30th. I’ll be looking forward to writing for that and after Fred’s introduction of integrating Mac and Linux, I’ll hopefully be writing on Linux in the Mobile Cellular Market as a competitor to the Apple iPhone.

On another topic, does anyone know any websites dedicated to British cinema as I’m sick of Hollywood movies now and would like to know when British films are being released.

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Update

  1. ksnieck says:

    I agree that things should be changed. I’m thinking more of making it IRC centric, since that’s where the most activity is. Maybe even get rid of the forums/blog and make it do other stuff

  2. Zach says:

    Glad to hear that you will be writing for macteens. I would love to see you come back to teenLUG. You are a good friend.

  3. kb3llm says:

    Hi. I don’t know you, but I have joined TeenLUG, after basically getting kicked out of TeensOnLinux. TeenLUG has accepted me.. I have been pretty active with them. I am now on the dev team, as well..

    I would like to see you come back, as you seem to be a nice person, and seem that you really helped with the CMS. I am in the process of making a theme or two, based on the minimalistic theme, and helping out in the PHP wherever I can (with simple things.. like adding echo statements to the mktables page, etc)

    If you ever do decide to come back, it will be a pleasure to meet you. Otherwise, thanks for your time that you put into TLCMS in the past.

  4. dswain says:

    Hey dude, long time no talk! Hopefully you’re doing well.

    I’m taking up the task of trying to squash a few bugs in tlcms, so hopefully that could get things going a tiny bit again. The channel seems fairly active the past few days (I haven’t been on for really months since yesterday) so I feel there is by far hope left.

  5. Bruno says:

    hi rob, please contact me by mail, wish to ask you if I could motivate you or some of your friends/relatives to participate to some development for a linux based LCD-PC-TV for later mass production.
    Regards
    Bruno (Germany, France and Taiwan)
    brukoe@gmx.net
    http://www.b-k-e.eu

  6. kb3llm says:

    Me again (kb3llm)…

    http://teenlug.com/forum/index.php?cat=1&id=19

    Rob, I am starting to understand why you left. It’s just as bad as when you left..

    We cant do anything right……. *sigh*
    oh well. – I tried…

    I think i will find a more Adult-ish group… These Teen Linux groups just arent working for me.. lol..

Leave a Reply

