Gnome Applications In Menu Vanish

So I performed a full system a few weeks back and gnome was upgraded but something went wrong; I logged in and loads of stuff was broken (I ended up using XFCE). Thankfully another full system upgrade (up to gnome 2.2) fixed a lot of the issues but left me with one problem. There were no applications in the application menu on the gnome panel! ARGH!!!! After a hour or so of searching and messing around I realised that the problem hinged on a file, /etc/xdm/menu/applications.menu. It turned out that the applications.menu should also have been in ~/.config/menu. So I copied it and chown’ed it to my user and it all worked fine 🙂

Code:

cp /etc/xdm/menu/applications.menu ~/.config/menu && sudo chown $(whoami) ~/.config/menu/applications.menu

This entry was posted in Linux. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

